Jeff Butterfield Trophy - The most precious Festival Award

Jeff Butterfield (1929 – 2004), Northhampton RFC and British Lions (1954/55), after his player´s career dedicated all his experience and abillity to the development of European Veteran Rugby. Jeff was for many years the Representative for Europe / United Kingdom of International World Golden Oldies Rugby Secretariat (Auckland, New Zealand) until 2002 when he and his rugby friend Marko Protega founded EGOR, both promoted our veteran sport, Jeff as Honorary President and Marko as Vice-President / Secretary. After “the Father of European Veteran Rugby” passed away in spring 2004 his wife Barbara continued to support the sport, her husband loved so much . . . In 2010 Barbara donated the silver cup to EVRA  . . . Executive Board decided that this Cup should be the most precious European Festival Award, to honour Jeff´s dedication to Rugby. The first winner of this precious Award were  Galcia Old Boys (La Corunha, Spain) veterans at the 1st EVRA Festival in Cascais (Portugal), in 2011. At the 2nd EVRA EU Festival in 2013, in Esztergom (Hungary), IL Coyotes – Cernusco Old Rugby, Cernusco sul Naviglio (Italy) was honoured  with this Trophy. Cernusco Team Manager Federico Riccardi Sirtori “passed the relay” to Skäne Old Boys Malmö (Sweden) captain Boris Polimac at the 3rd EVRA Festival in Farnham (England), at the start of Rugby World Cup England 2015.  At the 4th EVRA Festival 2017 in Siedlce (Poland) this precious Trophy has been awarded by WFS Siedlce Rugby veterans who organised this European Festival.    The tradition of Fair Play and the dedication to our Sport will be continued in Belluno 2019  . . . 

Jeff Butterfield winner Teams

Galicia Old Boys (Spain) 1st EVRA Festival 2011

 IL Coyotes – Cernusco Old Rugby (Italy) 2nd EVRA Festival 2013  

Skäne Old Boys (Sweden) 3rd EVRA Festival 2015

WFS Siedlce Rugby Vets (Poland) 4th EVRA Festival 2017

EVRA Select XV Team, France 2018

All rights reserverd to Fossili Rugby Old – 2018


Designed by TMgraphics